top of page
  • Writer's pictureSonja Gormley

Life in the City

Sometimes I wake up to pee in the middle of the night and I can't find the toilet paper because it's on the wrong side... well at least not the side my brain remembers.


We have been living in "the apartment" for a little over a month now. The boys refuse to call it "home" and I agree, because it is only a temporary stop. But it has provided us with an abundance of adventures from swimming in the salt water pool to early morning trips to the dog park (not so glamorous but I'm grateful for a nice place to let the dog, and the boys, run free).


The local amenities are endless and mind blowing for these small town boys. We have gotten our fill of international cuisine including Asian, Brazilian, Italian, Mexican and of course the kids favorite; Sam's Club Pizza and Pretzels.


I took the boys (husband included) to Ikea for the first (and last) time. Their impression of it was less than overjoyed but we accomplished the task of finding a TV console and I learned that any time I feel like I need some time to myself I can just mention that I need to go to Ikea. Ha!


The movie theaters are HUGE! I think our entire theater back in Iowa could fit in the lobby of the one up here, and there are recliners! It almost makes it worth it to spend the money it takes to get us all a ticket... almost. 😉


It's been too hot outside for anything but water activities these past few weeks. But we are looking forward to continuing our adventures and exploring the Science Center and the Zoo along with the numerous walking trails and the parks down along the Missouri River.


I got the boys registered for school and fall soccer. They are excited to meet and make new friends. We have found a great church and are already plugged into a small group. God has greatly blessed our beginnings here in the City and our time here in the apartment but it's a little small (and a lot loud) and just not home. We can only live in vacation mode for so long.

So we are counting down the days until we move into our new home... You'll want to stay tuned, for this testimony of God's goodness is nothing short of a miracle.


Until next time,

Sonja





51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A cure for what ails you.

I recently came across an article about the popularity of drinking among stay at home moms. It didn't spark much interest at the time but this morning it came to mind as I was contemplating life in th

bottom of page