top of page
  • Writer's pictureSonja Gormley

And so the adventure begins!

After six months in the waiting place we are now officially moving, in two weeks! This is our fourth out of state move as a couple and second as a family of six. This time is different as we are moving to a major city rather than a rural country lake and the excitement of new possibilities is high. It will also bring us the closest we have been to either side of our extended family in ten years. (Only a 2.5 hour drive!) However, there is always mixed emotions involved as we love the community we are apart of here in Southern Iowa. The bonds we have made over the past two years are life-long and I am so glad for our time here. I know the Lord has orchestrated every detail of our transition including the long waiting period as it allowed the boys to finish out the school year providing an easier transition for everyone.


This major change has given me a great opportunity to work with my boys on emotional literacy. We are talking through the complexities of grieving a loss while feeling excited for a new adventure. I am open with my tears when I am sad to leave our current home and honest with my fears of the unknown. This provides a great dialogue for them to express their emotions as they try to navigate this experience as well.


We are currently in the process of selling our home and shopping for a new one. Both provide numerous occasions to exercise our trust in God's provision. I know He will be glorified in every detail. He is more faithful than the rising sun and I am so blessed to be apart of His story and I can't wait to share with you all the amazing things that will transpire over the next few months.


Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers as we embark on this new adventure!



photo credit: flamingtoes.com

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A cure for what ails you.

I recently came across an article about the popularity of drinking among stay at home moms. It didn't spark much interest at the time but this morning it came to mind as I was contemplating life in th

bottom of page