top of page
  • Writer's pictureSonja Gormley

Four Year Trim Healthy Mama Update!

Wow, four years. It's always humbling to think about the passing of time. As we get older time seems to feel like it goes by faster each year... and yet time never changes, an hour is the same, sleeping or awake. Perhaps it means more than we could ever imagine with our finite minds... but I digress.


Four short years ago I started my journey with Trim Healthy Mama. It was by far the best decision I have ever made for my health. The first year I lost over 65 pounds and went down 7 sizes. I regained energy, confidence, and the ability to wear my wedding rings! I was able to stay on plan and maintain my weight for over two years. You can read more about that here.


Unfortunately in 2015 I was diagnosed with Psoriasis (a life long issue but was finally labeled that summer after an increase in symptoms). Fast forward a relocation to Southern Iowa and a year of discomfort and itching. Beginning in 2016, in attempt to find a solution to my skin complications, I choose to experiment with other eating plans. Most of them like typical "diets" strict and difficult to maintain, which lead to more and more cheats and carbs galore. I was eating "organic," "gluten free," "dairy free" foods but they where still prepackaged and filled with sugars. Organic sugar is still SUGAR and it still makes you gain weight and I was no exception. I gained back 15 pounds over the time I was "off plan." Not a huge amount, but enough that none of my clothes fit. And on top of it all, I also was no closer in finding a food related trigger to my skin flare ups.


Now for the good news... I got back on plan 100% with Trim Healthy Mama starting in December of 2017. I have since lost 8 pounds and am back into the jeans I was wearing in 2015. They are still what I like to call "standing room only" but knowing I am making progress is motivation to stay on track.


Everyone is different, for me the scale doesn't have to move much to make significant changes in my size and shape. My husband can gain/loose 15 pounds in a matter of days, so the numbers aren't always the best indicator of success. That being said, my next goal is to continue to stay on plan and get back into the gym lifting weights. I would like to finally achieve the fitness goals I originally set in 2014 when I started THM. I also discovered that my skin issues are directly related to my hormonal changes (four babies in 6 years kinda messes with the system) and I am heading the right direction for balancing that out and my skin is showing a lot of improvement.


Trim Healthy Mama is still the easiest and best way to find food freedom. I have never felt better than I do now. Knowing I've tried other options and they just don't work out for the long term gives me the motivation I need to just say no to all the sugary filled foods out there, even the so called "healthy" ones.


Food should be wonderful and enjoyable, and with THM I am never dissatisfied. Being stressed about what you are eating is not going to bring any success to your weight loss journey, it certainly didn't to mine. I am so glad I chose to get back on plan and I get to enjoy my food freedom with the peace of mind knowing that I am nourishing my body with the nutrients it needs and eating food that tastes amazing!


So for now I am going to get back to my piece of chocolate cake and all of it's sugar free, low carb goodness. Until next time.


Sonja


132 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A cure for what ails you.

I recently came across an article about the popularity of drinking among stay at home moms. It didn't spark much interest at the time but this morning it came to mind as I was contemplating life in th

bottom of page